PSA Women's Caucus Prize in Feminist Philosophy of Science

This prize is awarded biennially for the best book, article, or chapter published in English in the area of feminist philosophy of science within the five years prior to each PSA meeting. The winner receives an award of $500, which is presented at the PSA meeting.

Past Winners:


Victoria Pitts-Taylor for her book, The Brain’s Body: Neuroscience and Corporeal Politics.


Helen Longino

Helen Longino, for her book Studying Human Behavior: How Scientists Investigate Aggression and Sexuality.


Inmaculada de Melo-Martín and Kristen Intemann for their article, "Feminist Resources for Biomedical Research: Lessons from the HPV Vaccines"


Elisabeth Lloyd, for her book The Case of the Female Orgasm: Bias in the Science of Evolution. 

Sarah Richardson for her essay "Sexes, species, and genomes: Why males and females are not like humans and chimpanzees".


PSA Women's Caucus Prize Symposium

The Prize Symposium was new in 2016 and features scholarship that either a) has strong female membership, b) focuses on work by female philosophers of science, or c) addresses topics of special interest to the Women’s Caucus. This symposium is highlighted in the PSA program and scheduled immediately following the PSA Women’s Caucus breakfast, allowing the membership to attend en masse. The Prize Symposium is selected by a judging committee made up of members of the Celebrate Women Committee (CWC).

Past Prize Symposium:


"Animal Cognition and Animal Welfare"

Announcement & Abstract (PDF)

Participants (in speaking order):

  • Jonathan Birch (LSE)
  • Marta Halina (University of Cambridge)
  • Kristin Andrews (York University, Toronto)
  • Colin Allen (Indiana University Bloomington)
  • Lori Marino (The Kimmela Center for Animal Advocacy)


Highlighted PhilosopHer Series

This feature series showcases the work of crowd-nominated women philosophers of science in any career stage, chosen at random from among our nominees. Go to our blog to see previously Highlighted PhilosopHers.  To nominate an excellent woman philosopher of science to be a future Highlighted PhilosopHer, click here.